Beginner Growing and Making (Any tips?)

Hi,

I'm a beginner at growing chilli's and making my own sauce so I was wondering if anyone could give me any tips.

I plan on making different strengths with different peppers and growing them all myself as well as the tomatoes, etc.

Any would help or tips would be brilliant.

Thanks

Thanks a lot. Also I meant to ask is there ways of doing it cheaper with home made equipment or is it best just spending the money?

:welcome:

You need good lights and good dirt.
I use T5 lamps and Jiffy peat pellets.
You can build shelves and use Dixie cups or Solo cups for initial seed/seedlings

Brilliant. Does anyone have any tips they have found to help the plants grow/produce?

Thanks everyone for the help by the way. Much appreciated

Haha very good. Since I would be only doing this for fun in making my peppers for sauces and not on a commercial scale would I be able to use tin foil to aide in creating the heat instead of overpaying for a lighting set up?

I'm just learning, too.  And I'm cheap.  I read all the links, glogs and googled some stuff....the prob is that there is almost too much info out there.  Biggest things I'm learning:

1) Don't over water - easy to over water at all stages from germinating, seedling, adult, etc.....
2) Good dirt that drains well -- or at least potting soil mixed with perlite or something to help it drain.  Helps keep from over watering
3) Lights - I have T8s but I have a couple out of the light that have gone dormant
4) Air movement - oscillating fan 
5) Aphids - get on top of these little bastidges fast.  If Satan had head lice that cross bred with genital crabs, I'm pretty sure the offspring would be aphids.  
6) Germinating -- I struggled with germinating...generally over watered no matter what I did (paper towel, potting soil, etc..).  My best germ so far is Fox Farm Light Warrior on a heating mat.  Spray lightly every 2 days.  I'm getting germination in as little as 4 days.