labels Best labels / packaging I have seen on a hot sauce.

Some of you may know I am a Graphic Designer by trade, owning my own firm from 2001-2008. I have found (and this is just my opinion) that most hot sauce labels look, really dodgy. This is just one of my perks in life, I like good design and I think it means a lot more for a product than actually having a good product even though some will disagree especially with the saying, don't judge a book by its cover.

I am going to talk about three hot sauces, Defcon, Blair's and SFI. The first two being ones that I dare say, are the most well known of all hot sauces, besides perhaps Tabasco and Sirarcha, to compare to the sauce I want to talk about from SFI.

This is just all from my opinion, and from an Australian market point of view, the forum needs to get a bit more active, hence ...

Defcon - http://www.defconsauces.com/

Blair's - http://www.extremefood.com

SFI - http://www.scovillefoodinstitute.com/

If you compare the Blair's website to Defcon's, Blair easily has the better website but I find it a lot more annoying to use especially with the flames up the top. SFI has really good labels but a really shitty website, design should be uniform to create a brand image.

hotsauces.jpg

Defcon's labels look like the chemistry I use to use in the Photography dark rooms ... and something I would rather not drink. But that being said I actually think the design is quite smart, looking like a bottle of dangerous chemicals, especially with the name Defcon and the military applications associated with that name allows it to work. Still, I think this series of labels only really work towards chilli hunters, and not the general public in Australia - I believe this is completely different from the US market where there is a huge kind of military pride that does not exist in Australia.

BlairsDeathHotSauces.jpg