• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Black Chilli Plant

Hi all and thanks for the welcome

This is my first time being on a list like this so forgive me if I make a few mistakes at first...ie, where I should post my messages etc...
The Black plant I have had now for 2 years, Its been growing in a 300mm pot in an organic potting mix. I got it from my mother in law when she started a small vege patch at my place when she came to stay for a few months from Thailand, she got it form a friend when she ask some Thai people here in Australia if they had some seeds or plants she could have to start her garden and now I have it, I don't know if she got it as a plant or seed.
The chilli fruit grows about 5cm x 1.5cm tapering to a point, upright standing in groups of 3 to 5, they start out black changing to a deep red on maturing, I would rate them a 7/10 in heat and they are very sweet with a apricot after taste.
It is a very fast growing bushy plant about 50cm in height, new shoots start out dark green with purple veins rapidly darkening to black, still the underside stays dark green. The size of the mature leaves are approx 8.5cm x 3.5cm
The flower has 6 petals, is a deep purple with a slight bit of white in the centre, I've just cut about 40 good size chillis from this plant and it is flowering again now with a few chillis just appearing, I'll take some photos tomorrow and post them, (how do I posts pics to the list?). This is the first time I have taken seeds from this plant so if anyone wants to do a swap.
Now perhaps I can pick a few brains, Does anyone have any info, web sites or ideas on making a Green House or perhaps where I may purchase a second hand or maybe a new one from here in Australia, the size I will be looking for is approx 12ft x 24ft or there abouts.

regards Grant

I made a hoop house off of these plans last winter.

http://westsidegardener.com/howto/hoophouse.html