• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Brain Strain pain

I bought some brain strain pods last week from Cappy and I just tried 1/4 chunk. This is my first year growing and trying super hots so i tread carefully after hearing stories here. After i tried a red 7pod i was growing, i thought that was the hottest pepper as it got me running! Bhuts, nagas, 7pods, habs, i could handle.

But man, it was ok at first, then it started to burn real bad and real fast. Especially the tips and edges of my tongue. Then my whole tounge as on fire. My tongue felt numb-ish. I asked my wife to get milk fast, i tried washing my mouth with it. Didn't help. I then ran to the kitchen and put sugar in my mouth, did not help. Tried honey and it helped a little. Even after 10 mins i still feel the heat. Wow, this was a serious butt kicker. Number one super hot so far in my books.

Question for veteran superhot eaters, is the brain strain hotter than a butch t?

I'll be drying the rest of the pods and making flakes to add to food. Phew! No more raw brain strains. Here's a pic of what cappy gave. Give him your business. Cool guy!

P1020002.jpg

Depending on the growing conditions and your particular tongue genetics it could be. Scorpions and 7's have different burns for me so it is hard to compare. I find a 7 burn more painful than a scorpion but the scorpion makes my whole mouth ache versus the 7 burning my throat. I definitely prefer the scorpion burn and I also prefer the scorpion taste but I think I am in the minority on that as I read here that most like the 7 flavor better.

Everyone last year put it higher than i did,but i had a very late season pod. and i think judy's brown might have just been a freak of nature. growing both to find out.plus i'm hoping Matt might throw a pod or two my way since he lives right there. i put it third last year. right there with the douglah. things might be different this year though.