• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

water Bucket watering questions

This is my first time growing in a (Home Depot 5 gallon) bucket and I have some questions about watering:

In my clay starter pots, I water until it runs out the bottom. Should I continue this practice when watering my Trinidad Moruga Scorpion in the bucket? I'm afraid I will overwater I do so.

Also, I already watered it once after the initial transplant. If I wait longer than usual, before watering next, will this benefit the plant, becuase the roots will have to fight their way downward to search for more moisture?

I just watered it until it ran out the bottom on all my buckets last year. as long as it's draining, you're good to go.

I am worried that I may have screwed up the drainage. I had 4 holes drilled in the bottom of the bucket for drainage. Then, after I put the soil in, I realized that I forgot to put rocks in the bottom to help with the drainage. There was no way that I was going to pour the soil out, then back in. I pushed my fist into the middle of the soil, making a hole to the bottom, and put the rocks there. Then, after I covered the middle hole, I noticed that the level of the soil had dropped considerably, as I inadvertently packed it down. I then added a lot more soil, in order to fill the bucket back to the top. The transplant is fine, as I see new growth, but I am worried that the packed soil is so hard, that water will not properly drain.

I used straight topsoil last year instead of decent garden soil, something I'm fixing this year, and it was about as compact as it gets. The water drained just fine. I've heard, and I'm going to try some this year, that if you drill the holes in the side an inch or two from the bottom, it drains well and it leaves a little reservoir to draw from. Just make sure the gravel comes up above the holes or dirt will come out with the water.