business Business Entity Formation

I've been lurking for a few weeks, quietly gathering as much information about fermentation, making sauces, and cultivating hot peppers. I'd like to thank you all for your contributions. Since all I know about hot sauce is learned from this forum, I can't really contribute much to that discussion. However, I do know a little bit about business so I can contribute to the business subforum. I'm a CPA who's been servicing the small to mid market in Illinois for 8 years now. I've advised business owners who generate as little as $100,000 up to as much as $1 billion in sales in various industries on matters of tax and finance. I noticed that the question of entity selection seems to come up quite a bit in this subforum and I just wanted to provide some expert insight in a concise format for any would-be entrepreneurs. I will focus on the three major deciding factors when it comes to entity selection - Ease of setup/maintenance, personal liability, and income tax. For income taxes, I will limit the discussion to Federal taxes because all states have different tax laws and it'd be impossible to summarize them in a concise fashion. I won't discuss state registration, again because of all the different state rules. I also won't be going to go through all of the different forms of partnerships since some of them won't even be applicable. Instead, I will just describe the most common General Partnership for those who are interested in starting this venture with a friend, family member, or significant other.

Unregistered Sole-Proprietorship
Ownership: One owner (the "proprietor")