• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Calcium and Magnesium deficiency...

After transplanting a good portion of my plants appeared to have a pretty decent calcium and magnesium deficiency and they have locked up. This is my first year starting entirely from seeds and my first time having a real deficiency. I gave them some CalMag a few weeks ago, but so far no new growth has happened and they are still locked up. How long should I expect this lock up to last and how often should I give them CalMag to correct this problem?

Also, a friend recommended that I give them a little B1 to help with the shock. I have heard conflicting information about using it, some saying it works great, others saying it doesn't do crap. Anyone use B1 and how much should I give them since the label on the bottle I have is 90% destroyed so I have no idea on dosing.

Thanks for any advice yall can offer!

Unfortunately it is too cold to try hardening off up here. I have them under a 400w metal halide right now, as they have been for a while (started under 200w florescent grow light).

lock up refers to the nutrients in the mix, not the plant

even with deficiencies the plants usually keep growing

if you think the pH is way off the quickest fix that wont hurt anything is to mix a cup of dolomite lime into a gallon of water (it wont all dissolve) and water thoroughly the entire medium. that should reset the pH and you should see new growth without fertilizing again in a few days to a week

edit: it also provides cal & mag

able eye said:
lock up refers to the nutrients in the mix, not the plant

even with deficiencies the plants usually keep growing