Can I grow just 1 plant?

I'm new to the pepper world, but I would love to be able to grow my own.  My question is, can I just have 1 plant or do I need multiples?  Also, I was considering a Jolokia or scotchbonnet as my pepper (are they fairly hardy?)

My plan is to use a hydroponic set up with the 5 gallon bucket that can be brought in the house when temps get too low.

Any advice or direction would be great.

Thanks,
Caveman

you can grow just one,i would start several and keep the sexiest one though. i also would maybe grow four or five. not to much to take care of and you will be so glad you have a few. one will be lonely and sad :mope:

as far as hardy they all about the same.

good luck and if you p.m. me your address ill get you a small welcome package for the holidays.

Can you try to grow one pepper? Sure. I don't consider it physically possible because of how much fun it is. I also find Inverse Law of Survival kicks in around here. I grew 17 habs the first year, lost 2 of em. Next year, 3 douglah, lost all of them. The more you plant, the higher percent will survive.

I couldn't have just one. But yes, you will have peppers especially in a DWC grow. Scotch Bonnets are a great all around pepper, Bhut's are alright too. I'd go with the Bonnets tho!

Couple black stinger pods will be at your house tommorow. If you like them save a few seeds. (they aren't superhot by any means but they do taste good!) Trust me with all of us here in our area you won't have a shortage of plants should your brown thumb take its toll on one lol! Couldn't believe the mailman came today. He did have chains on though lol! P.S. just got word Weatherford ISD cancelled school again!

i have both yellow and red scotch bonnets that are 4 years old - just killed off a red yesterday and eyeballing yellow, have to make room for 2014. all my bhut types have died within 2 years.