• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Can someone please help me identify this strain of Habanero?...

I bought a Habanero plant (seedling actually) about a 8 months ago and it just started producing beautiful peppers but to my surprise they were not the orange color I expected nor were they so much the squatty looking bell shape I am use to seeing. I know it's a Habanero but was surprised to see the more red color and the longer'ish shape. I know habaneros can range in color from the little research I've done but I am wondering if someone knows specifically what strain this is? I read about a super hot strain that is red and called a Savannah Red. Is that what this is, does anyone know? Thanks for any input.

Any other thoughts or input on whether this one was ripe or not or too ripe or whatever are welcomed. I am a total newbie but loving growing the plant and want to harvest at the best time for ultimate flavor, sweetness and of course hot'ness :hell:

1stHabiHarvest092308.jpg

Doesn't look like Red Savina or Caribbean Red. you got me there, it doesn't look like a hab to me.

I agree that it doesn't look like a habanero too... but, I bought the seedling at a well known nursery here in Camarillo, CA and it was cleary marked along with a whole tray as habaneros. Although it is possible it was incorrectly labeled and with incorrect plastic soil signs, I am more inclined to think it is a hab but of a different strain. Plus, although I am new to growing peppers (habs in particular), I know the distinct taste of a hab and believe me... this taste like a hab. I will wait for some others to ripen and see if they look any more like a classic hab shape and maybe post another pic in a day or two as they are all ripening at this point.

If it tastes like a hab, then it's probably a Chinense. still doesn't look like any hab I know... a cross perhaps?