• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Can you help me identify the problem?

I have these odd looking patterns appearing on the leaves of my pepper plant. Also yellowing on the outside of the leaves. Can anyone help me identify what this is?

I'm new at growing peppers or anything else for that matter. Someone gave these plants to me this spring, so I'm not exactly sure what they are. I've harvested two so far and they look like basic Cayenne chili peppers.

Attachments

• 2019-07-26 14-14-32 - IMG_20190726_130708342.jpg
    2019-07-26 14-14-32 - IMG_20190726_130708342.jpg
    120.2 KB · Views: 91
  • 2019-07-26 14-14-45 - IMG_20190726_130656817.jpg
    2019-07-26 14-14-45 - IMG_20190726_130656817.jpg
    92 KB · Views: 86
Thank you for the responses. I did some digging based on your suggestions and found out that it is definitely ringspot (aka Tomato Spotted Wilt Virus or TSWV). This is a Tospovirus that can affect over 1,000 different species of plants, not just tomatoes. It can be present in seeds, or spread from plant to plant, human touch, nearby weeds, and smoke from burning diseased plants. But by far the most common vector is thrips. I saw these on my pepper plants when they were young, but I didn't know what they were so I didn't do anything about them. Thrips can stay buried deep in the blossoms, shielding them from pesticides and some have also developed resistance to certain pesticides. The virus is incurable and affects the entire plant, deforming and ruining the fruit. Disgusting.

Keep your pesticides organic, and they won't be able to build a resistance.  Other substances, which build up residually, can definitely lead to resistance.