• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Changing Colors

Some of my peppers are starting to change colors at last . My Golden Habaneros are 1/2 green and 1/2 orange. That's what I expect. But my Trinidad Congo Yellows are doing the same thing.
Will peppers that going to be yellow turn orange first ?

Thanks & Peace ,
P. Dreadie

Thanks Guys ,

I thought peppers that are supposed to be Congo Yellows that are half green & half orange now was strange. But thought I would/should ask.

So I should pick the peppers when they're fully orange and not wait to see if they turn yellow.

Peace ,
P. Dreadie

Potawie ,

I was thinking/wanting them to turn YELLOW. I know plants can get mixed up. I'd expect that more from my starts. This was from Cross Country. The color's not that important , it's my first year and I'm trying to learn.
So when the color doesn't seem right I'd like to learn what could be up.

Here's a picture of the pod in question.

Peace ,
P. Dreadie

Orange_green.jpg

Just found another pod on a different Congo Yellow plant that's changing . This is more what I would have tought would happen.

Peace ,
P. Dreadie

Yellow_green.jpg

you may have a cross on the red one...but the yellow one looks true

AJ ,

I think I'm right but will ask anyway . When you have a cross pollination the peppers THIS year will look and taste like the original plant. It's the seeds from the cross that are changed. Right ?

If that's right then the plant in question above was the wrong plant or a cross. I planted 6 Congo Yellows. The hail killed one so I have others to see how things go.

I bought some fresh peppers last year from Cross county. I used the seeds from some Fatalii for my plants this year. All of these seem to be correct.

Peace ,
P. Dreadie

P. Dreadie said: