• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

dried Chipotles

Sorry if this is in the wrong thread...admins feel free to move it

Anyways, I'm fairly new to the pepper growing thing and have always liked spicy food and am just moving into the deeper/hotter waters.
I like to use chipotles mixed with other peppers in my bbq rubs and chili powders, but was wondering if anybody makes their own and how they go about it, because I usually have a jalapeno plant or two and would like to turn them into chipotles to have on hand through the winters.
Also any suggestions for better peppers to use are also appreciated.

You need a smoker that will cold smoke or at least smoke at fairly lower temperatures without any water-pan or other added moisture. There are so many great varieties of chile and many of them are great smoked, but jalapenos and paprika types are always a good starting point.

If you can hold you hand comfortably on the smokestack of your smoker, the temps are low enough.....95-105F.

In Mexico, chipotle takes 2 or 3 days and it is really smoke drying. Many different chiles can be made into chipotle.

Thanks guys. I've got a little cheap-ass upright brinkman smoker and will probably use that later this summer. Should be able to keep the temps low enough for it, the issue will be makin sure the fire stays low but doesn't go out.
Also, what kind of wood works best? Mesquite or are others just as good?

I think it may be a challenge with a brinkman but not impossible. Mesquite is just about the stongest flavored wood and I like it for short term smoking, but there are many different wood choices. I usually like to use what I can get for free or cheap so I use a lot of maple and apple, but I still usually buy some mesquite and hickory as well for some stronger flavor.