• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Chocolate Scorpion sprouts!

I purchased a Chocolate Scorpion pod from a person about 2 weeks ago. I took the seeds out before using the chili and just threw them in a small pot with left over soil not thinking they'd sprout because I didn't dry them.

Well, I guess it's just my luck because I had 100% germination rate with these.

The question I have is should I transfer them into individual solo cups now? Should I wait a little longer?

Just worried that they'll get too root bound if I waited longer.

Also, should I use regular potting soil or seed starting mix.

Thanks

That's awesome man - congrats! I'm a rookie grower, so not sure what the answers to your questions are, but good luck dude 

Personally I'd let them get about 4 inches tall.  I usually don't bunch mine up that close but hav had a few in one small pile before.  They don't tangle bad at that young age and even if you tear a root or two they'll most likely be fine. 

If you do it now use a big spoon and scoop a few at a time.

Rainman said:
That's awesome man - congrats! I'm a rookie grower, so not sure what the answers to your questions are, but good luck dude 
Thanks.
Browning said:
Personally I'd let them get about 4 inches tall.  I usually don't bunch mine up that close but hav had a few in one small pile before.  They don't tangle bad at that young age and even if you tear a root or two they'll most likely be fine. 

If you do it now use a big spoon and scoop a few at a time.
Thanks for the advice. I'll let them get a little taller before transplanting.

The reason they're bunched together like that is because I literally just dumped the seed in and covered them with some soil haha.