• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Composting

I was talking to a friend here and said I need to make a compost bin or something. He offer to give me a tumbler he doesn't use. So I starting reading on line..... I read that lawn clippings are good for starting compost but if that's what you use mostly you end up with a messy stinky pile of stuff. Grass clippings are something I can get every week. Same with kitchen scraps. But bigger stuff like leaves only come once a year. And then I only have 3 large trees and three smaller ones. What else can a guy use ?? Easy stuff to find I'm hoping.

My wife rides horses so I can get horse and cow poop . Also where I'd like to put the tumbler ( so I don't have to look at it ) is on the side of my house, but it doesn't get a lot of sun .... maybe 4 to 5 hours a day. Does that matter ?

Thanks & Peace,
P. Dreadie

I'm fairly new to composting but sunlight doesn't play into it much if at all. My wife has taught me that one doesn't even need a container. My wife creates a pile of leaves, corn stalks (any leftovers from the garden), kitchen waste (no meat), and general yard debris. She waters it daily and then with a hoe moves it around, which turns it over and over. I've been watching this process for almost a year (7 or 8 months) and by god it works! As to smell; I have never smelled anything foul or unpleasant from this. The ants love it, the birds love it and it just works. Anyway, something to think about. Remember; here in Thailand everything is 24/7/365.
Oh, and I have worms (big ones) in my raised beds for my Habaneros (red & orange) and before this I had never seen a worm here. Cheers.

I like to keep my main overwintered compost piles in direct sun or it takes until summer to thaw out completely, although its likely not a problem in Texas or with a tumbler.