Cutting Board/Block Maintenance

I got my first "Boos Block" cutting board (20x15x2.25", hard maple) a few weeks ago. Inside the wrapping, it said that it was already treated with their "Mystery Oil" and Board Cream. The first time I used it, I washed it (by hand) with light dish soap, let it dry, carved a brisket, washed it again, let it dry, and put it away.

They (Boos) say that, a minimum of once a month, you need to retreat it with the oil and cream. Here I am, a few weeks later, and I've been oiling the thing for two days. Light coat, probably 3x on each side and edges so far. I guess you're supposed to oil it and let it dry overnight, then oil any dry spots again (with a light coat), then wipe off the excess the following morning.

My situation is: this is my first time oiling it, and I've already gone through a full 12oz bottle of oil, and probably another 3-4oz of a second bottle, with no end in sight. I can tell that it IS absorbing it (some parts look darker and shinier than others), but there are still some dry spots, so I think I have to hit it again. Tonight will be my third night applying oil, and I've yet to see any "excess" oil pooling up to be wiped off, although it is darkening a tad.

Is this common for the very first oiling? Seems like a lot of oil already, no? 16oz? Or am I just being impatient?

Any tips/advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance

You should only need to oil MAX once per month, and minimum, 1-2 times a year, based on board usage. Are you letting it soak in overnight? Is it petroleum-based? (mineral oil), as, you may want to look into beeswax paste which you may find also performs better...