• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Diagnosis help?

Hi all, I'm a first-time grower, I've been growing for just about 2 months. I have some Hunan chili peppers I bought from Amazon currently well underway, about 2 months old, and my leaves are showing some disturbing signs right as the peppers are really starting to grow big.

I thought this might be a potassium deficiency, but my local hydroponics shop said it's more likely magnesium. I've only had maybe a dozen leaves across all the plants turning yellow, but it's just started happening in the last week and I'm worried.

I'm using Dyna-gro Bloom, Mag-pro, and Pro-tekt at the recommended solutions, but the leaves aren't getting less yellow, they're slowly getting a bit more yellow. They have some faint yellow spots in most of the leaves when viewed in front of the light, but only recently some of them have progressed to being totally yellow or a few wilting and dropping off.

Could it also be under-watering? I have the timer set to fill the basin every 6 hours for 2 minutes, so 4 times per day for 2 minutes each time.

Attachments

• IMG_20190417_182835.jpg
    IMG_20190417_182835.jpg
    113.8 KB · Views: 109
  • IMG_20190416_124701.jpg
    IMG_20190416_124701.jpg
    116.6 KB · Views: 102
  • IMG_20190417_182903.jpg
    IMG_20190417_182903.jpg
    132.4 KB · Views: 98
  • IMG_20190414_165016.jpg
    IMG_20190414_165016.jpg
    100.5 KB · Views: 101
What grow medium are you using (e.g., perlite, rockwool, etc.)?  

I think peppers do best with Kratky, DWC, or Dutch Bucket hydro techniques.  With Kratky and DWC, the roots are constantly submerged.  With Dutch bucket, the roots are drip irrigated regularly (I drip constant, others stop the drip at night - depends on media and temperatures, etc.).

8 minutes sounds like way too little.  Especially as they are getting bigger.