• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Diaries of a Newbie

Hi All,

So, I've never grown anything before let alone peppers of any sort. I was eating some hot sauce on an enchillada about 2 months ago in New Mexico when it hit me that I have to grow peppers. The 6 pints of Guinness didn't hurt either.

So I went to my local Home Depot and found some seeds labeled "Hot Pepper Seeds". I bought them, went home and here you go (~5 weeks later):

291543957_RWsqb-S.jpg

291544060_eoG8B-S.jpg

291544164_PG2WW-S.jpg

291544272_uHngp-M.jpg

Its not much but it has me excited. I didn't find this terrific site until I already started. It has been such a great resource. I am already making plans for next year.

Let me know what you think but please be gentle. I'm just a rookie.

DrHavanger said:
Looking good. Do you know what variety/s you have, or was it one of those mixed packs of seeds?

It is one of those burpee mixed packs but it lists the types as:
  • Anaheim TMR 23
  • Ancho
  • Long Slim Red Cayenne
  • Jalapeno M
  • Hungarian Wax

Wish I would have gotten habs but it can wait.

Not a bad choice at all, especially for a newbie. You should be doing fine, atm the plants look healthy and aren't leggy. Well done so far!

Do you keep them under lights/on the window sill/outside...?

Welcome to our world JJ....next year you will start more seeds than you have room for....

Your seedlings look pretty good....

Ha ha I definitly agree with AJ in a few months we'll all be trading seeds --- you've been bitten by the Pepper Bug.

Chiliac said:
Not a bad choice at all, especially for a newbie. You should be doing fine, atm the plants look healthy and aren't leggy. Well done so far!

Do you keep them under lights/on the window sill/outside...?

Thanks.