• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

DIY LED Hydro System

So I am going to try and grow some peppers with a DIY hydro system and LEDs. I have a back bathroom in my shop that I will be using. The space available for the hydro is gonna be around 24x48 inches.I want to get some suggestions as to what would be the best hydro system. I will be building this system myself so before I start I want to hear what is the best system I can built for a limited space that I have.

I have zero experience in hydroponics but I have some reef tanks going and the systems are kinda similar. I know about TDS, PH and all that stuff. I want a recirculating system since it makes it easier to get to and replace nutes. If you guys can post some links or pictures to some DIY systems I would appreciate it.

I will be building an LED fixture with 48 3w LEDs. Going to use mainly red leds 635~645mm and Royal blues 450~460nm. I posted some pictures on another thread of a DIY LED fixture that I made a few weeks ago for my reef tank.

ebb and flow is pretty easy. you can buy a cement mixing tub from lowes for 14 bucks, and some 1 1/4" pvc to make a stand. ebay a fountain pump... and some fittings and a timer. like 60-80 bucks total id guess.

1st off I am a complete newbie. I started growing ~2 years ago and started hydro 2 months ago.

+1 for ebb and flow. It is cheap, simple and if you have any leaks they go straight into your resevior. I went to lowes bought a timer, shallow tub and two deep tubs. Went to the hydro store and bought hydroton, fittings, tubing and a pump. The guys drilled the holes for me and put the fittings in. The pump was the cheapest they had and is more than adequate. I have heard that DWC is the fastest but I was blown away by the health and growth of the plants.

I can't find the site that inspired me but here is one example.