• Everything other than hot peppers. Questions, discussion, and grow logs. Cannabis grow pics are only allowed when posted from a legal juridstiction.

Dwarf key lime tree

I've sort of hijacked this thread and turned it into my miscellaneous citrus growing thread. Right now I have two Meyer Lemons (1st year and 3rd year), a Kaffir Lime, and a Key Lime. I have zero experience with fruit trees, so this is all an experiment. My original post:

On a whim, I decided to try growing a key lime tree earlier this year. It's just a rooted cutting, so I don't expect fruit from it for a while, but I planted it a month and a half ago and it hasn't done anything since. No new growth, no change in leaf color, no wilting, nothing. It's almost as if it's one of those fake plants in the doctor's office. I've had it outside when the weather is good and still nothing.

IMGP0333.jpg

is it rooted can you tell? i tried to root a ZEE(?) plant and it took absolutely forever in a peat soil.
anyway here is a flow chart i use to try and diagnose deficiencies.
nutrient_deficiency_flowchart.gif

so according to the chart... iron or sulfur?

give it some citrus fertilizer 1/2 strength every two weeks till you see new growth than full strength, mine always starts to turn yellow about every three months, give it some food and it gets good and dark green. hope it works it did for me.

Well, it had roots when I planted it. I'm thinking I might repot it with better soil. This was marketed as a citrus mix, but there's an awful lot of peat and retains moisture forever.

Iron or sulfur does seem to be most likely. Not sure if any trace element foliar sprays...

Yep; I dug up the plant and over half the roots had rotted and the bottom of the pot was soggy and compacted. I added a third vermiculite to the mix and mixed in some organic citrus fertilizer; hopefully that helps.