• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

eating your first superhot

Hi all,
Im new to the hot pepper and my first post was showing off all my hydro bucket grows.. there all doing fine and producing pods..

So heres were im at.. i have never tried a superhot pepper and would love to build a heat tolerance, what peppers do you think would be a good starting point ?
I would like to try harbanero first and go from there.
What are all your tips and tricks to building a heat tolerance ?

Just eat hot foods as often as possible.  Add increasingly larger amounts of super powders into your meals.  Really most will never get to the point that supers are comfortable whole.  You have to just take a deep breath and pop one in.  Don't try a hab first.  Just do a super.  Its not like you will die from it.

cruzzfish said:
You can't build up to supers. It will always hurt, and having a tolerance just makes it a bit less.

So true!! I started with tabasco sauce as a kid and moved up to jalapeno's then growing habanero's in college around 1993. I moved up from there to naga morich's about 10 years ago. Those rocked my world and I told myself I'd never grow anything that hot again. Well.......I was wrong. Anyway, I eat fresh pods in the summer and try to have enough super hot homemade powder to last the winter until I have fresh peppers again. My goal is to never run out of heat. That is how you build a tolerance. I eat peppers and/or powder with almost every meal to build and/or maintain my tolerance, but also for the health benefits. Good luck in your journey bro!!

Subjecting yourself to face-melting pain is not mandatory! :)

I must admit that I've never chomped an entire pod of anything hotter than a Chocolate Haba.

Fatalii and beyond get nibbled over the course of an hour, added to whatever is cooking, or dried and powdered.