• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

favorite Favorite scooping pepper?

Not sure if anyone else does this.  It comes from being lazy and not wanting to stuff peppers.  I will slice them in half length wise and then use them to scoop things like a thick blue cheese.  Been using hummus with Trinidad scorpion sweet.  Things thick like potato jalapeno are good for dipping, but a scooping pepper needs to be hollow and crunchy to get a good scoop.

So what is your favorite scooping pepper?

I've never done that before but my wife makes some killer hummus. I might have to give that a try with some Jalapenos and Bishops this weekend.

Gotta try this.  I personally like to whip up some hummus from scratch and just toss a pod or 2 in the food processor to heat it up that way.... but using half a pod as a scoop could be rad, too.

I love hummus too. I add a little mild hab sauce to the center and just scoop a little onto each pita chip. I prefer not to mix it in so i can eat it mild and hot.

BTW try Holy Land hummus. Its pretty dam good for a retail product, lower sodium and all natural.
dipTahini.jpg

I like my peppers cooked mostly, aji Amarillo makes good poppers.

Damn rabbits or cutworms ate all mine this year. Didn't get a single ripe one.

Commercial all natural hummus?  Obviously if you eat something fast, you dont need preservatives.  But I always figured it had to be in glass or metal to be heat pasteurized / all natural.  I wonder how they keep the nasties from growing.  Maybe a very early expiration date?