• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

fermenting Ferment stalled?

My peppers have been fermenting for just over 1 week. I dont see many CO bubbles even when shaking the peppers. I just received my new ph meter and the brine was reading a ph of 2.8. Is my ferment syalled / failed?

**I cant get my peppers to sink. Hoping they are ok if not fully submerged with the water lock.

Attachments

• 20230510_155030.jpg
    20230510_155030.jpg
    113.6 KB · Views: 164
Hello @Damplenutz and welcome to THP.

I read you're new to fermenting, so I recommend you read THIS THREAD, Fermenting 101.

From here on, these are just my opinions. There's different ways to approach fermentation. This is what I do, and I've been doing it for many years.

If you tested the pH of the brine in the ferment, you've broken the cardinal rule - Once you start a ferment and seal it, DON'T OPEN IT! Fermentation creates Co2. Co2 is heavier than oxygen. As the Co2 layer increases above the peppers, it pushes the oxygen out through the bubbler (be sure there's water in the bubbler at all times). You should see the bubbler burping out this oxygen, quickly in the beginning, and slowing down as the ferment progresses. Mold needs oxygen to grow. By opening the jug, you let the Co2 escape and oxygen back in, increasing your chances of mold. Since your ferment is still fairly young and fermentation is still active, the oxygen displacement process should happen again. I suggest you do not open the jug again until you are ready to process.

"I cant get my peppers to sink."

Completely normal. The Co2 being created is 'trapped" within the peppers and causing them to float like a raft. I suggest you "ratchet" the jug back-and-forth (clockwise-counterclockwise-clockwise-counterclockwise...etc) for several seconds. That will release some of the Co2 bubbles within the raft and the peppers will sink.