• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Figured it was just time before the spider mites showed up

AlabamaJack

eXtreme
yup...got red spider mites...

pics..

underside of leaf with the naked eye looks like little rust colored specks...

redspidermite1.jpg

Sure enough, red spider mites...didn't take a pic with my macro..just used 24X digital zoom, but you can see they are red spider mites..

resspidermite2.jpg

already hit everyting within 50 feet of the affected plant with safer soap...hope it controls them..

here is a good article on red spider mites...identifying characteristics, damage caused, and treatment...

http://plantman.wordpress.com/2007/02/25/identifying-spider-mite-infestation/

Where's natural predators when you need them?

Last year, being a complete newbie, I stuck plants in the ground and they turned out great. This year, I started from seeds and like many of you have had all kinds of pests. I wonder if containers play a role?

Is anyone growing in dirt, without any plastic or special watering system - in other words, as just part of your garden? If so, are you having infestation problems?

Mike

Hey AJ are these like stretched out but thin looking lady bug things.For whatever reason I can`t open your link.I`ve been killing these things 24/7.Something has raised hell with my banana peppers chewing them up.Thanks for the help. Rich

they look like a little spider...don't know how else to explain it...they do have two distinct black spots on their backs...

I think pests are going to show up sooner or later anyway...its keeping on top of it that makes a difference...I do have a few lady bugs...

I hope you get rid of those nasty bugs, this year is bad all alone I lost lot of plant from frost May 27 than had hard time with dears today heals bomb my plant hope I have anything this year.

Paul,