• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

first time chili grow!

Hi every one i'm 25 and luved my chili for as long as i can remember, i have now decided to grow my own :)
I've bought some seeds from ebay and raised them in a small portable green house, but as this is my first time growing any thing i'm having some concerns about my plants health. They have now been transplanted into larger self watering pots but have not seemed to grow since and some of them seem to have stems incapable of holding the weight of their own leaves.
Can any body tell me what simple mistake i'm making? I would upload some pics if i knew how lol.
thanks Roger

Self watering pots are a no-no. Your seedlings can just wither and die off from being too wet (damping off). You have to let your seedlings soil dry and only water when needed. Post pics, so we can help you better, and see what you're doing.

ok any sugestions on how to post pics? when i click image it asks for a url, i just want to select from my HD. I'm terrible with computers.

Did you use a water saving potting mix in the self-watering pot? I agree with Vegas_Chili on avoiding that style of pot. Also avoid any potting mix that has water saving crystals and emphasises high water retention.

eOOgLNah.jpg

from left to right i have jalapeno, red cayenne, choc habanero and the infamous ghost chili (i've since lost the small one in the pic)
8K8nFbuh.jpg

Y1zxIH2h.jpg

w6P2Ebjh.jpg

Harry yes the packet says it holds 2x the moisture.... is this bad?
Blue flames lol spot the aussie, any one who starts a sentence with M8 must be local! hope u had a sh!t hot oz day

gradually move them into more sun too. Let them get morning sun and gradually work them towards nearly full sun, avoiding direct noon-2 sun.