First time

Hi all this is my first time growing peppers and for that matter, anything. I am growing jalapenos, chocolate habaneros and bhut jolokias. I planted the jalapenos and choc. Habs on 4 Feb and the bhuts on the 20th. The jalapenos are strong and getting their 1st set of leaves while the habs never showed up. I replanted the habs after soaking them first on the 20th. The first one just showed up. I really hope that this one makes it because I was looking forward to having choc habs this year.

Well, I don't really have any questions, I just felt like sharing my story. This is harder than I thought that it would be!

Hay Wolfhound

It.s not like planting a pumpkin seed is it.

You've come to the right place for questions when you do have one.

Good Luck SC

Just be patient with the habs and bhuts. I planted Red Caribbean Habs and Bhuts on the 12th and I have what looks to be my last bhut to pop coming up today. The first hab only took 6 days, the first bhut 8 or 9. Some just take their sweet time coming out of their warm hiding place.

The jalapeño will grow much faster so don't worry too much if the others slowly creep along....

Best of luck =)

Most of my chocolate varities took a long time to germinate. Most of the chocolate habs took 2-3 weeks. Some of my chocolate bhuts took over 5 weeks (estimation). Douglahs took 2-3+ weeks. Most of my bhuts popped up in about 5-7 days though. They will come up faster if you can keep the soil about 84-86 degrees and keep some humidity in there.

Yea I figured that they would take a while. I have some bhut and choc hab seeds in plastics cups on wet paper towels. They are at 85 degrees and been there for 2 days so far. We will just see how long it takes. Thanks for the heads up Avon.

welcome mate, I have been eating hot products for a while but I'm in the same league as you, only just started growing, and it's already so much more fun than just eating hot peppers.