• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Getting the most out of my HID

This is my first time growing indoors and I did a rather poor job of planning everything out. I purchased the 600W MH/HPS system listed below:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004L3AQ1U/ref=oh_details_o01_s00_i00

My grow area is roughly 5.5' X 7.5'. The walls are lined with mylar. Some of the plants are 2nd or 3rd year ones which are obviously a good bit taller than the seedlings which I started this year. To that end the light is higher than ideal for the seedlings.

I need to buy a light meter but as a qualitative observation it appears that the plants directly under the fixture are getting a fair bit more light than the plants at the periphery. In hindsight I should have gone with a 1000W light.

Obviously one option would be to get a 2nd light. Aside from that I could upgrade either the bulb and/or reflector. What would give me the most bang for the buck?

The reflector is rather small and flimsy. How much benefit would a good reflector provide? Any suggestions as to make/model? How about a higher quality bulb? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

unless your build a curved platform for the plants to sit on, the ones in the middle will anways get more light. just rotate the plants around periodically. as far as an upgraded reflector goes... they are generally cost prohibitive, and are vented with glass etc etc... not useful for starting plants for spring plant outs.
you will notice, that even the commercial lights they use in European greenhouses are of similar construction, open and not vented wings or stamped paraboloid looking things. personally id look at getting a separate light for your old plants...something like a 250w ebay cheapo... either that or build a platform or something such that you can get the newer ones close to the light.