• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Ghetto-Gardener Composting

I've searched for weeks regarding composting, and read a thousand different ways.

I have a sandy-silt/loam mix native soil. I've started a compost bin tossing in egg shells, ashes, coffee grounds, and veggie kitchen scraps...onion ends/peels, broccoli stalks, banana peels, etc. I even found a patch of worms that I dug up, and added.

However, I'm a total novice as to what need to go into the mix for growing supers. I'll be tilling it in.

Thanks!

lol. Add some brown leaves, too, every now and then. Leaf mold rocks the house. I'm signin' on here, too, though, in case someone has a pepper friendly mix. Maybe pepperguru will chime in...

I have been meaning to add brown leaves...need to do that. I also have a bale of hay that got moldy, and I was going to work that in as well.

your worms arent gonna like those onions

They better learn to love 'em...we use close to an onion a day.

I compost in two ways: "hot composting" in a large bin of black plastic where bacteria and fungi do most of the work and worm-composting in smaller plastic tubs where it's all about keeping the worms happy. I can be pretty indiscriminate about putting stuff in the big bins so that's where yard waste like weeds, chopped up banana trees, and citrus stuff go (my worms are okay with onion but not citrus). I put stuff in there and forget about it until I have some time to turn the mix to aerate--otherwise the middle and bottom get compacted, anaerobic and kind of stinky. The hot compost does not like being too wet, either.