Grinding Pods

I'm new to growing peppers and cooking with them. The question I have (or questions) to start with is after the pod is picked and its time to dry them (air) should I remove the seeds before or after the pod is dry or would someone just explain the drying process?

When its time to grind the pepper the texture can be fine or course. Should the seeds be removed or left in and ground up. Im thinking both ways.

The peppers Im growing this summer are Tabasco peppers. Would they be normally dried or used in various other ways that may call for whole peppers.

What would Tabasco peppers be used for if not prepared as the traditional Tabasco sauce. I'm thinking making a salsa maybe and maybe some Venison Chili or Venison Curry? I've actually never tasted a Tabasco pepper but it sure is fun watching them grow. Pretty little things.

Next spring I'll try some of the other Tabascos.

Hey Tom, welcome...

Are you taking the seeds out to save them for growing next year? Someone else will have to explain that part of it if that is what you would like to do.

As far as drying the peppers....
I'd suggest that the chiles be cut open or in half to facilitate the drying process, especially if you are air drying. If you don't cut them open, the insides will stay moist way longer than the outside and increases the chance of mold growing (which we don't want!).

If you plan on grinding up the chiles for use as a dry spice, most people leave the seeds in, dry it all, and then grind them all up together.

There's a couple other threads going about grinding up dry chiles and what to use....coffee grinder, blender, food processor, blender base with a mason jar. All good options.

Good Luck, keep us posted....with pics if you can!

blender base with a mason jar
SL I have never thought of that,Thanks!Will definetly use that tip!