Grow Light Knob Needs Advice

Hey everyone,
I've been growing peppers for the past 4 years, but only in the summer from starters at the nursery.  I've never tried starting seeds at home in the winter, but wanted to give it a go this year.  I figured it would be easy; buy some seeds, put them in dirt, get some lamp to shine on them, and presto, full grown pepper plants by late spring!

But the lamp part has been a huge source of frustration and confusion.  I know next to nothing about grow lights.  I set out to learn more, but the more I read the more questions I have.  I'm overwhelmed with abbreviations, scientific nomenclature, different bulb types, different light spectrums, what works, what doesn't, what is safe, what generates too much heat and will burn your house down if you use it wrong, blah, blah blah.

There seem to be 4 main types of grow lights: tube fluorescents, LEDs, high pressure sodium bulbs, and metal halide bulbs.  pros/cons?  Old school, new school?

The general rumor is that red and blue light spectrums are most important for good growth, but some say light spectrums don't matter for pepper plants.  Should I care light spectrums?

My main concern is the price point.  I don't think I can spend more than $100-$125 without seriously pissing off my wife.  Is there a reasonably good grow light setup I could find for this price?  I'm not a commercial grower and I'm not trying to fill an entire room with 100s of plants.  I'm thinking as the seeds grow and I trim out the smaller ones, I want to hit late spring with about 4-6 plants ready to put into the ground.

Any thoughts or pointers?

Thanks much,
John

John,

if you have only 4-5 plants you can start them off under t-5's and be ok. If you want something a little bigger, can go with 400 or 600 watt metal halide, all depends on your budget.

Magnetic  ballast are going to be cheaper than eletronic ballast for the mh and hps. THe hps, is really not need until flowering the stage,