• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Growing in glass bottles

Had an idea to grow a bonchi/ ornamental in a glass bottle (liquor, growler, etc). Thing is, I'm worried about drilling into the base, since that'll probably shatter the thing, so drainage will be nonexistent.

Since I'm new to the pepper game, I thought I'd ask you all: any tips for growing in a poorly-drained environment? Should I put rocks and sand down first? Charcoal? Anything else? All constructive thoughts welcome!

If no drainage, keep an eye on it. If it starts puddling up in the bottom, turn it over and pour it out. I do that with a scotch bonnet that doesn't have drainage holes in the pot. Don't put down charcoal or rocks, just make sure that you don't water it while it's still wet. and make sure there isn't much/any actually liquid water in it.

I did this, it didn't work. There were two problems. First the bottom of the bottle was either dry or soaked, tipping away water was a pain. Second I eventually couldn't water them from the top as the bottle neck become too laden with roots. It would take over an hour a little at a time.

The only way to do it is to have drainage holes and water from the bottom. I used a hot rod although I read online you can fill the bottle with water and put tape over teh area to drill. Either way, wear gloves and protective goggles!

I've drilled glass bottles numerous times. The diamond bit is a good idea. Ive also used a Dremel with a small grinding bit. My secret that I read somewhere was to use some putty and make a dam around the place you are drilling and put some water in the well which helps cool the spot you are drilling/grinding. You can see when you are doing this that at times the point of contact will get hot and you'll see a red glow. Back off. Go slower. That is how you break the glass. Just a constant production of dust is your indicator of progress.