• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

media growing media, making the best of what you have

Last year I discovered super hot peppers. I even grew several in what was a throw it all together at the last minute season.(planted peppers May 26th and harvested pods in early Oct). I used miracle grow potting soil then,  because it was readily available and I was a newbie.

Well, I have to use it again this year because nothing else is available and I have 8 cu feet at my disposal.
I also have 32 qts of perlite to add to it.

Given this scenario. Is there anything else that could be added reasonably to improve the quality of the media? And No, 6 yds of ocean forest or 707 is not the answer I am looking for.

You will be good with what you have. I have grown healthy plants with Miracle Grow and the perlite will be very helpful if growing in containers. No real need to add anything else.

Be sure to read the 'All about soil' thread pinned a the top of the page.  I get the impression that any number of mixes can work well, and that specific ingredients and proportions aren't terribly critical.

Cheap (free!) additives might include a few scoops of plain old local soil for basic minerals, and maybe 5~10% coffee grounds (bring a bucket to the local Starbucks a few minutes before they close and they'll be happy to load you up.) as a basic organic with trace mineral and N content,

OTOH, I'm a total noob to all this, so please weigh my 'advice' appropriately. :rolleyes:

The local nurseries here sell decent compost for $1.50/5gallon bucket. That with what you have would give you all you need and more since it would add some "live fuel" to your mix

impending_bending said:
If you can get your hands on some rockwool by any chance... you won't be sorry