• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

indoor Growing multiple varieties indoors (have read old threads but need some help)

So before I go on, I did do some readings on previous threads, but I just want to try to get as much info before I jump into this hobby headfirst.

I'm currently a student at university and don't have a balcony so this limits me greatly. However, I still want to try to grow hot peppers. To help me with this I have a 95 watt floodlight (for heat and to provide some light) as well as a T8 UVB bulb. Obviously, at least from what I read, I'll need more light in general as having one floodlight will create a long, spindly plant (which I wouldn't want).

What I plan on doing is once the seeds sprout, I'd like to have one light coming from the top and then another one coming in from the side (with aluminum foil on the other side to reflect light). How efficient do you think this would be? Also, I'm a bit worried about the heat. How do I overcome the high heat (as a floodlight could be anywhere from 110+ F)? Does anyone have any photos of their indoor setups too by any chance?

Also, I will, whenever I get the chance, bring the plants down every now and then when I come home to put them outside on the patio for them to get some natural UVB for a few weeks (but will do this with a gradual change 2 hours every day, then 3, then 4, then 5, then all day).

As I'm planning to start the seeds in a week or two, I'd also like to know what's a better way to start the seeds, the plastic baggie method or just putting them into cells? I'll also be using a heating pad hooked up to a thermostat (extra one from keeping reptiles haha).

Thanks if these questions have been asked before, but I did do a quick read through some threads before and just wanted to double check. If anyone has any photos of their set ups it would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks everyone!