Hello from Austin

Hi. My name is Chuk.

I'm a baker by trade but my passion is really cooking. I've been making hot sauce and salsas for about 13 years now. I've entered the Austin Hot Sauce contest only twice; once in '94 and again this year. I haven't placed yet but have gotten honorable mentions both times.

I am a home gardener with tomatos being my main focus ( just can't get good ones in the store!) but I always plant habaneros, jalapenos and a few other odd chili pepper plants. I've had a bumber crop of beautiful orange habs this year.

I've been especially interested in hot food this year after reading about Nashville's "Hot Chicken". I hope to make it to Prince's one day soon to try that devil bird they make. That interest lead me to find Hot sauce Blog which in turn lead me here.

My other interests include BBQ ( I've got a Weber and a Texas style smoker in the backyard and use them both quite a bit. ), beer ( especially fancy, high alcohol beers.....ones with "Imperial" in the name are usually good),movies ( I post on 'dvdmaniacs.net" a lot) and music.....I play in weirdo Austin bands sometimes....there's lots of those here.

I don't have a product to plug, I'm just here to talk hot stuff!

im gonna be in texas in november cooking for the world championshiop how far is austin from terlingua (near the mexican boarder)

chuk hell said:
Hi. My name is Chuk.

I'm a baker by trade but my passion is really cooking. I've been making hot sauce and salsas for about 13 years now. I've entered the Austin Hot Sauce contest only twice; once in '94 and again this year. I haven't placed yet but have gotten honorable mentions both times.

I am a home gardener with tomatos being my main focus ( just can't get good ones in the store!) but I always plant habaneros, jalapenos and a few other odd chili pepper plants. I've had a bumber crop of beautiful orange habs this year.