• General food and cooking questions, discussion, and recipes. To blog your food or to create (or post in) a community food thread, please post in Post Your Eats!

Help canning WHOLE jalapeños....

I was wondering if anyone has experience canning whole jalapeños. I've been canning jalapeño rings for a few years now. I pack the rings in jars with a few garlic slivers, fill then with a simple brine (4 cups H[sub]2[/sub]O:1 cup white vinegar:[sup]1[/sup]/[sub]4[/sub] cup canning salt), and process for 15-20 minutes in a boiling water bath (15 min is recommended at my altitude). I've never had peppers go bad and they always come out tasting good.

I want to try canning whole jalapeños. I've bought them before and I really liked them. I tried making one batch already, and I was wondering if I did it right. I completely removed the stems, cut 3-5 deep slits in each pepper, and tightly packed them into jars. I used garlic and carrot sticks to take up more space and pack the peppers in more tightly. After that, I possessed them the same way I described above. As an aside note, I didn't use a knife to remove the stems; I just pulled them off so that the peppers weren't opened up but instead just had soft spots where the stems were. This is how all of the whole jalapeños I've bought in the past have come.