Help - Not sure why pepper keep dying

Hi there,

First off, I want to say that I have been reading this forum for the last few weeks as my google search results have navigated me here for many of my questions.  I have decided to join this community, and I am very new to growing vegetables.

I'm having a major problem this year (my first year), and it is only with my pepper plants (habanero, wiri wiri, thai).  My non pepper plants (tomatoes) don't seem to be affected by this.

The first time around in March, I planted many peppers (started them indoors).  I had a very high germination success rate, and they all got their first true leaves and looked really healthy.  However, then I had a problem with aphids.  I think I perhaps diagnosed this problem a little too late, and I decided to purchase neem oil which is supposed to starve them over time.  Regardless, I got rid of the Aphids, and some of the peppers were looking really bad, but I still left them to see if they will be able to recover - they never did.  Some later planted peppers came up in around April, and these ones did not have the aphid problem, however, even before the true leaves would start coming up, the plant would start drying out, the leaves would scrunch up, and it would die.  After doing much reading, I determined that I was probably over watering the peppers, and that this was resulting in root rot.

The second time around (early May - 2 weeks ago) I started some more peppers with at least some experience this time around.  I now knew not to overwater.  I also went to a local nursery and picked up two pepper plants as well.  I'm very confident I am not overwatering this time around, but I am having a similar problem.  I am starting to think that this is some kind of a virus affecting the plants, especially because the ones from March gew so healthy for up to a month, and it was from then on forward that my plants would quickly become affected by this problem.