Hi from Portugal, I have some doubts :D

Hi everyone,

I'm new to growing seeds. I encountered some issues and wanted to ask if you could help me figure this out.

I planted some seeds outdoors (I didn't have permission to plant indoors :/ ) nearly a month ago, as I'm new to this seed world, I ended up planting them too deep. After 2 weeks I extracted the excessive dirt so the seeds could be more closer to the surface and I noticed none was different from the day I planted them. Today after nearly a month, I couldn't see a single sprout, so I decided to dug the seeds up in order to test them (water cup test) and start all over again, now in a warmer place with some aritificial light and better dirt.  As i was digging them up, I found that between like 35 seeds, 3 were germinating. 1 of the germinating ones was creating roots below the seed, I didn't notice and still dug the seed. As soon as I noticed it had roots I put it back and covered it again. So my questions are:

did I kill the seed by digging it with its roots though I planted it back?

Did I ruin everything by digging every seed that wasnt germinating and putting them all in cups with water?

Thanks for your time and help :) 

Welcome!/Introduce yourself to unlock all forum features.
FFMZ9PR.gif

Growing Hot Peppers/Grow Tech

[SIZE=10.5pt]Hey [/SIZE]Pazuzu.  You'll likely get more responses to growing questions if you post in the growing forum versus the welcome forum.  

[SIZE=10.5pt]My thoughts are that the soil was probably way too cold to plant outside when you did. You're far better off starting pepper seeds indoors at soil temps of 27C plus and then transitioning them outside once overnight temperatures aren't falling below 10C or so.  Or, if you have a long enough season, start them outside once soil temps are somewhere > 20C.  There's some flexibility with these temps, but I'm offering them as approximates.  They simply won't germinate if they aren't warm enough.[/SIZE]