• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

yield How to increase my germination yield and how to harvest seeds

Hi, I've been growing chillies for a couple of years now for a hobbie, but this year I wanted to take it a bit more seriously.

I have 2 goals this year:
  1. To understand and improve my yield
  2. To harvest seeds from this year's results to be sown next year.
Earlier in the year I bought a variety of seeds online and, in order to test the seed harvesting, I harvested some seeds from some Finger chillies that I bought from Lidl. I havested the seeds immediately after I bought the chillies and stored them in a cool, dark place with all my other seeds.

I planted the seeds about 3 weeks ago using some Miracle-Gro multi-purpose compost and placed them in a heated propergator (see photos). I've watered the chillies most days but not if I felt they already looked quite wet. The propergator has been placed indoors, in front of some French doors that face South.

I've calculated my germination yield (shoots vs seeds planted) as:

Scotch Bonnet Red - 33%
Red Birds Eye - 22.5%
Cayenne - 19%
Basket of Fire - 7.5%
Harvested Finger - 0%

In respect of my goals this year, I would like to ask the group 2 questions.

Does anyone have any tips for how I can increase my germination yield, particularly with the Basket of Fire which seems quite low compared to the others?
Does anyone know what I am doing wrong with my seed harvesting? I must be doing something wrong because I don't have a single shoot of the finger chillies and I really want to harvest some seeds from my plants to sow next year.

PXL_20230406_104539533.jpg
PXL_20230406_104549643.jpg

PXL_20230406_104220729.jpg

Hi, I've been growing chillies for a couple of years now for a hobbie, but this year I wanted to take it a bit more seriously.

I have 2 goals this year:
  1. To understand and improve my yield