illWills noob hydro questions

I know,  I know,  I could probably find these answers through lots and lots of searching but I'm admittedly lazy and unmotivated.  Please help:

I moved to plants to DWC buckets yesterday.  It is my first time growing in DWC.  I have a few questions:

1)  A week seems to be about standard for changing your nutrient solution:  but will water dissolve in that time?  Will I need to "top off" the buckets?  If so, about how frequently?  

2)  Is it okay to handle the roots as long as you don't break them?  Is it okay to empty the net pot and check out root growth or will that just stunt the plant?

3)  As with question #1,  will I need to test the solutions pH during the week?  Will the plants uptake of nutrients affect my ambient ph?

Thanks for any help   :)  

I haven't got any DWC plants or setups, but I've got some gear getting ready for it when cooler weather rolls around. With that said I've done alot of reading so I'll put my 2c in.

1) I don't know what you mean by dissolve, I assume you mean the water level dropping. If so, yes the water level could drop in a week, depending on many factors. Ive also read that water changes are usually done every 14 days. When you top off, it is my understanding that you top off with PH adjusted water, without nutrients, just to get the water up to the right level and you only do so when necessary. One week your plant could consume more fluid then another week. Theres no given interval, its done as needed, when the water level gets lower than your threshold. You wouldn't want your roots exposed to air only.