• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

water I'm OK or No? Overwatering?

Newbie here. Lot of gardening experience but have never successfully started peppers or tomatoes from seed. I may be a little too ambitious but I've started 2 flats already, planning on starting 1 more flat at the end of November & 2 more flats around January 1. Last frost here is about April 10. I figured with these first 2 flats, if I got 50% germination, I'd be satisfied. I know it takes awhile, but I'm a little worried...

Started some in bags & paper towels October 26. Put those in soil (most had grown a tiny tail) & started others directly in soil between Nov. 1-7.

I have 14 sprouts popped out... out of 96 cells in the flat. I've had Scotch Bonnets, Aji Lemon Drops, Trinidad Scorpion Sweets, a White Bullet Habanero & a few others sprout whereas annuums haven't really sprouted. I assumed annuums might be the first to sprout. 

Soil was nice & fluffy but I went out of town for the weekend & got a little paranoid. Filled the trays up with about 1/2" of water before leaving. No water in the tray when I got back but the soil was wet & heavy. Put a couple of halogen lamps over them, and now, the soil is drier but kinda crispy. Most of those that have sprouted sprouted very quickly but only a couple have since this overwatering incident.

Should I just relax and be patient or did I make a big mistake? No need to panic, I know. Plenty of time to start over if need be. 

Advice would be appreciated. I left home today putting clear domes on the trays, thinking I'm about where I should be with water, but the soil is kinda wet and bricklike if that makes sense.

Patience!  You're starting early enough to give them more time before worrying.  I would have expected the annuums to sprout first, but wouldn't be surprised if they don't.