• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

indoor Indoor chile garden not so fruitful?

Ok so i planted two bhut jolokia plants, two cayenne, one jalapeno, and one carribean red habenero around july 12th from seed, i started them under four foot CFL grow lights they grew to be about a foot tall and then leaves started turning yellow and falling off working from the bottom up. I asumed they are not getting enough light so about a week ago i installed a 250 watt MH light and its been about a week now and the plants havnt grown much the bottom two leaves on each plant are still a tint of yellow. I'be been feeding them correctly and have them auto watered from the bottom. i'm unsure what to do at this point i've read that 250 watts should be fine for my 2'x3' grow space but i thought i'd ask someone with more experience since this is my first time growing indoors, so what do you think the problem is, is there a problem, or im a just not as patient as i should be. -Thanks

The first flowering/fruiting tends to not be as productive as in subsequent flowerings/fruitings, mainly because the plant is, by and large, still growing, so it's splitting its energies. Once the plants get to their max size (around a meter tall for C chinese), then they'll produce a lot more.