• General food and cooking questions, discussion, and recipes. To blog your food or to create (or post in) a community food thread, please post in Post Your Eats!

condiments Infused Hot Pepper Salt

Well, I have seen YouTube videos of people making infused "finishing" salts with rosemary, sage and other herbs. Can the same process be done with Super Hots?  I've used the search feature here to no avail.  Take some coarse salt toss it in a food processer with some fresh peppers for a bit till combined then let sit and dry or toss in the oven or a dehydrator till it all dry's out?

miacova said:
Take some coarse salt toss it in a food processer with some fresh peppers for a bit till combined then let sit and dry or toss in the oven or a dehydrator till it all dry's out?
While I have no experience, I would think mixing a "wet" ingredient with "dry" salt would not work well - I'm thinking you'd end up with a sticky gooey mess?

Ive been doing chile-infused salts and seasoning powders for a bit now. Youre going to want to use well-dried peppers. Cut them in half lengthwise and run them at 95-100°F on a food dehydrator until theyre dry and brittle. When youre ready to make your salt/seasoning powder, grind them finely. I have a couple of electric coffee grinders for this (just dont use the same one you grind coffee with!) You can experiment with incorporating all manner of herbs, spices, and aromatics. I have one in the kitchen right now that tastes like spicy cheese pizza. I used salt, a little sugar, ground dehydrated peppers, heirloom tomatoes, oregano, basil, and garlic, and the powdered cheese from a box of Mac and cheese.

Oh, and the best way to store it is in a salt shaker with small holes, with some uncooked white rice thrown in. The rice absorbs moisture, keeping your salt/powder from clumping.

Edit: Autocorrect is Autofail.

Wicked Mike said: