• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Is this a Big Jim?

I'm not too good with labeling and don't remember where I put all of my plants. Please help identify this: I think it is a Big Jim. If so, I'll be proud, as I grew this from seed.

Take a look.

Thanks,

IMG_0863.jpg

IMG_0862.jpg

IMG_0861.jpg

IMG_0860.jpg

don't know what it is other than one huge chili pepper...

Went to pick green chile last weekend and they had Big Jim, Sandia, Sahuaro, and a XX variety. Over all the Big Jim is well bigger but if you look long enough you can find a few Big Jim sized pods of the other varieties. I've been eating green chile for over 30 years and still can't tell what variety a pod is by sight or even taste. The green chile really is the bastard stepchild of the hobby. If you can tell us what the other possibilities are for this pod, based on the seeds you planted, it might be easier to eliminate some of them and narrow the list. Good luck

Beaglestorm

Now that I am reading your reply, I don't think I grew anything that could be this big other than a Big Jim:

Rocotto - These are circular
Red Cherry - Small and Circular
Super Chile - Different Shape
Lemon Drop - Different Shape
Various Belle's - Different Shape
Cayenne - I don't think these get so thick

I may have picked up some other varities at the nursery that I am not remembering now.

I am not saying it isn't a Big Jim, but all the ones I have seen are tapered or more pointed toward the end. If you look at a sack of Big Jims you will see many sizes and shapes, depending on where the chile was placed on the plant. It may be a Big Jim not fully grown. Roast it and enjoy.:)

I'd say its a Big Jim. They can grow all different sizes and they have inconsistant heat levels.