• Blog your pepper progress. The first image in your first post will be used to represent your Glog.

Jazzman's Grow Log - 2013

Hi all,

This is my first season growing much of anything, so im excited to see how this year turns out. I figured that beginning a grow log would really help me keep track of what i do and how the season unfolds.

I started out growing peppers really unexpectedly. There was an organics fair on the University campus that i attend (i'm a fourth year student) and i happened to stop by a booth with a woman selling seeds. a pack of Chinese 5 Color seeds caught my eye and, on a whim, i purchased them. I started those seeds in a little plastic "greenhouse" container in seedling starter soil around the beginning of March and almost all of the seeds germinated.

While that was going on, my interest in peppers kind of took off, and i planted a couple pepper seeds from grocery store fruit (Thai Chills, Yellow Hots, and Orange Habs) as well as 5 types i purchased from Trade Winds Fruits (Scotch Bonnets, Peach Habs, Trinidad Scorpions, Filius Blue, Brown Fatalii) and a last-minute purchase at Canadian Tire of some Hot Lemon pepper seeds.

After having some problems with my 5-colors getting pretty stringy, i bought a 4' shop light with a couple fluorescent bulbs and set it up under my desk (if i figure out how to add pics, i will :) ).

As for the peppers themselves, i now have 13 5-colors, around 7 Thai chilis, and tons of sprouts from the Hot Lemon and Scotch Bonnets. I am just beginning to see some action on the Filius Blues and Fatalii, and the beginnings of some growth in the Orange Habs.

I'm excited to keep going with this season, and i am looking forward to when the weather starts to actually warm up.

Lemme know what you think, and if you have any tips that you think i should try with my peppers! i'm all ears. Sorry for the long write-up, i'm not sure how to add pictures from my computer onto the forum yet :P help on that would be great too!