• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

JUST A FEW QUESTIONS.....

So, I have been growing my peppers and other plants for 3 years now but I am still fairly new to this and have a couple questions for any one willing to help. :lol:. This year I started my plants on February 1st. I started with 288 and give most to family and friends. I had just over a 90% germination rate at a soil temp of around 80 degrees. I only keep about 60 plants for my self.

My questions are: I have heard of a few people pinching the first middle flower bud (or sometimes the first few) off to let the plant grow more foliage before it focuses on growing fruit. I haven't done this in previous years but I am curious. Most of my Sweet peppers usually get up to around 18" high which is around the norm for them in 10" pots but this year I plan to put almost all of my plants, 60, in the Ground. Some of my habs last year were at almost 3ft. in 10" pots and I never pinched any of the first flower buds on them either..... Any thoughts on that would be greatly appreciated.

I also see some plants in pictures on here or on videos on youtube and they look as if they person trimmed off all foliage on the bottom 12-18" of the plant and it looks just bushy on the top..... is there any valid reason for this or just looks????

Here are my two videos for my plants so far this year:

First Video
Second Video
And again.... Any Help or Ideas would be greatly appreciated! :) Thank you ahead of time!

A lot of people here do pinch the buds off, right up until they are happy with the size of the plant.
I have never pinched a bud and my plants don't seem to suffer because of it. I want pods as soon as possible!