• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

health Kratky Hydro - What am I doing wrong?

I setup a small Kratky hydro experiment a month ago using a red Bhut.  Initially, my PH was too basic, so the largest leaves started to yellow and initial roots turned dark.  But, after I picked up a ph meter and ph control kit, the plant picked up nicely and had good looking new leaf and root growth.  I've been keeping the ph at 5.9 with general hydroponics nutrients at ~600ppm.  Tonight I noticed some dark spots on the new growth that looks like some sort of cell death.  Any thougths on how I could improve this?  Maybe I need to buy a pump and airstone to oxygenate the roots? 

no theyre dead or soon anyway

it also looks like you have some clear slime choking out other roots

what was the water level in there?

Im no expert here but heres what Id do if I was you. Use a new reservoiur and bucket and get a pump and airstone as well as trim back brown roots a little. The water wasnt circulating enough it looks like. Again Im no DWC expert

Heckle said:
no theyre dead or soon anyway

it also looks like you have some clear slime choking out other roots

what was the water level in there?

Water level is about 2 inches below the net cup.

miguelovic said:
Is that bundle of brown roots slimey?

They don't seem too slimy at the moment.  They were pretty slimy before I had my ph corrected.

I'll go ahead and trim the old brown roots out tonight and replace with fresh nutrients.  Thank you all for the suggestions.

Root rot is unlikely to go away without some form of treatment whether it be a sanitizing solution or beneficials. A good cannabis website like ICmag has the cumulative results of dozens if not hundreds of growers on different solutions if you don't mind sifting out the chaff.

miguelovic said: