artwork Looking to Start my Own Hot Sauce Company

Hello World I have just found this forum last night and decided to make a account and get into the world of hot peppers and hot sauces. I come from a family of business people and have been wanting to start my own food based business for a while now.

I am located in Ontario,Canada so do not know the many laws or legal troubles with starting a hot sauce company. I am doing this for the love of food and am still in the early stages of getting all the information I need to start a business plan.

So I came here to ask people I have no knowledge of how to start a hot sauce company or where to even start. I was thinking of finding a small office space to start off making small batches then as profits come in get a warehouse big enough to pump out the volume.

Does anybody have any advice or where to start. Should I start making batches at home? Look into a small office space with a big enough kitchen to start making batches? Look into a good marketing firm to help me with getting my product into peoples ears and mouths? Being in Canada i have a huge market to tap into with regarding hot sauce as there are many diversities scattered around from Caribbean to Indian and Chinese 

My first big step is to start testing out recipes and see which one is going to be the main starter for my company.I do not know Canada and growing hot peppers so I would have to see which peppers are grown in Ontario by local farmers or suppliers.

Any help would be appreciated. 

Thanks

Tyler Valdal

Hey Tyler welcome to THP!  Your family business background will help you a lot.  I have for you the following heavily condensed advice:

1. Read and eat everything you can about hot peppers and sauces.  You probably know a lot already, but you'll need more if you're going into business.  Many informed and cool vendors around here, as well as  a wealth of info on growing peppers, making sauce, finding/retaining business advisers, etc.