• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

seeds My first germination test!

So just wanted to share my excitement with you guys. I'm as green as it gets when it comes to growing anything from seed. I've never done it before. In January I plan to grow 5 varieties of peppers with 10 total plants. I thought it would be a good idea to perform a test before I got down to serious business in January. So I decided to test germinate a few bhut jolokia seeds and some Pi 1441654 seeds. The hottest place in my house is inside my desk where I have an old computer that is used as a file/print server. It has a door so the only ventilation is through the back where a 5"x2" hole is for the wires. I haven't put a thermometer in there to actually see how hot it gets but I can definitely tell it is warmer than room temperature. So I decided to test out the paper towel in the baggie method. I did this on Friday afternoon. I checked just a few minutes ago and 3/5 Pi 1441654 have hooks already. 0/5 bhut jolokias have hooks, but I didn't expect them to germinate in 3 days. So only time will tell if the bhuts like it.

Pretty happy though to get hooks in only 3 days.

:woohoo:

Ugg after second glance, it appears that the Pi 1441654 baggie is developing mildew (smell and a bit of black on one of the seeds and surrounding towel. So I've done up another baggie that I've pre-treated the seeds with a hydrogen peroxide solution. So we'll see if this keeps any mold from forming.

Hehe, scratch that bhut jolokia count in the first post. 1/5 have germinated in 3 days! Woohoo :woohoo: ! I was under the impression that bhuts take a long time to germinate. This method/location looks very promising. Wondering how my HP test will do now.