• Blog your pepper progress. The first image in your first post will be used to represent your Glog.

My First Mini-Glog Post (With Amateur Pics)

I'm a relative newbie, and pepper growing in the Northwest can be a challenge. However, we have had a nice late summer and it looks like it may keep going for a while. In the past, I bring a few of the better plants into the garage in October and try to extend the ripening process. This year, I may buy a cheap tent style greenhouse for that purpose. I only have about 15 plants, so this is a small operation. I snapped these pictures today (September 16th).

7993099168_7b5998299c.jpg

This is my first time trying superhots. A Ghost is on the left, and Trinidad Scorpion on the right. The Ghost is my weakest producer. The Scorpion is loaded but none are ripe.

7993099062_63d544ee47.jpg

Here's a closer shot of my Scorpion. I hope you can see those green pods among the leaves!

7993098828_032973ec03.jpg

One of my two fataliis. Lots of pods but no ripening in sight . . .

7993088063_c106f92229.jpg

A Numex Parker (left) and Ancho Magnifico (right). I had some pod rot issues with the early fruit but it's mostly stopped. It's hard to see the pods with all the big leaves in this pic. I love the look of those hand grenade-sized anchos but don't know what to do with all of them (stuff em?)

7993088147_027c1b95c7.jpg

This Cayenne has been fun. It's a big producer, and I've been able to harvest a lot already. Only the Jalapenos were faster. The pods go from green to red in just a few days.

7993087953_385d21491e.jpg

One of the Habs (4 total). This one was overwintered. It looked almost dead after transplanting into a bed. It took a long time to come back, but now it's loaded (yah!). I'm going to try to overwinter it again.

7993087797_0d4acd8258.jpg

Slow and steady row of Jalapenos. These always do great here and get harvested early for poppers, salsa and hot sauce.