• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

My habanero plant, is it normal?

Well, I mean, aside from the weird looking leaves (which I found out was because of a Ca deficiency) ....does it look okay? It was a single stem with a couple of leaves when I bought it. Now a month or so later, there's about 4-5 different branches coming out of the bottom instead of the 1 and there's way more leaves. There are buds on the top too. Thanks for any feedback you guys/gals may have! This is my first time growing anything at all, so yeah! 

PKTc6Rg.jpg

P.S. I used pelleted lime as a calcium supplement. I saw someone using it in youtube videos...and yeah.. :) Should I take off the weird leaves?

I'm not an expert, but I personally would remove the old mangy looking leaves, it's got enough on it that it isn't going to stunt it any.  I also remove leaves that drag the dirt out of personal preference...It looks good otherwise IMO.  Nothing wrong with some branches forming from nodes, that's a sign of a potentially high productivity plant in my experience.

xBrianxEdge said:
Sweet, thanks for that info! You mean the leaves that are touching the dirt? 
Yeah I do it mostly because I don't want them to catch any kind of fungus or disease from my organic soil, but ideally it shouldn't be much of a problem if they aren't getting overwatered...plus I don't really want pods forming near the dirt either...I think the plant looks better when it's pruned around the lower trunk.  I can only offer my own experience other members may offer different opinions.

ikeepfish said: