• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

My New System; on Loan From Rachapat University, Chombung, Ratchaburi.

Thanks to the generosity of Ajarn Pathara, I just received the system today. It's all ready to go except for a few minor glitches; to wit, my water is PH 7.68 and I don't have any hydrochloric acid. The other minor hassle is my sprouts are in coir plugs and they get way too wet in the constant flow system. So, my sprouts need a more developed root system (they're only 3 days sprouted). Ajarn Pathara will bring the acid and meter on Monday or Tuesday and we'll adjust the PH.
Any and all advice is welcome as I'm a genuine baby newbie at this technology. Here's a picture;

HydroponicSystem.jpg

:cool:

I have zero experience in this type of system but it looks to me like you have a mass of stem far above the medium level.

Mike

Yes, but that seedling wasn't sprouted with the system; it was sprouted in a coir plug. I've got some water issues (PH 7.68). It'll take a bit to sort this out, but we're working on it.

Nice system be careful using acid as it will cause swings and dips in the pH over time. So when you measure your pH measure every hour for 4-6 hours in a row until you get a constant number and even then wait a day and test again.

LGHT said:
Nice system be careful using acid as it will cause swings and dips in the pH over time. So when you measure your pH measure every hour for 4-6 hours in a row until you get a constant number and even then wait a day and test again.

Thanks; that sounds like very good advice.

Its always important to make sure the medium is sprouting well before putting into a system like this. Add water then nutrients to relevant strength. Then check ph and adjust to suit.

If the nutrients are too weak or strong this can cause your ph to go up and down. You need to test both ph and ppm/ tds/ ec.